Okay… I’m not the sort of person who jumps on the bandwagon… I mean hello have you seen the name of my blog… But I just had to comment on this. I mean… what kind of person would I be if I didn’t?

Globalisation relates to becoming a more interconnected world. So due to the western influence, globalisation can now be termed ho-lisation. I understand that when you see something on TV, you want to mimic it… I mean who wouldn’t want to wear some Brazilian hair while the owner of said hair tries to hide in the audience from the cameras during the #worldcup. We’ve become so enchanted by the ways of the west that we throw away our morals just to emotionally twerk.

Nicki Minaj released the video for ‘anaconda’ last week and it was nothing short of a twerk orgy. Now what’s wrong with that? I mean who wouldn’t want to see a woman ten years shy of menopause shaking her ass in a pink thong? I mean I’m not a lesbehonest but I would have had the same reaction as drake if I were in his position. I voiced my views and I was quickly shut down (OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH BUUUUUUUURN!) I was reminded that I need not hate on the fact that Ms. Minaj is making money and I’m here on a budget. There’s a job that reminds me of what Ms. Minaj does but I just can’t seem to remember what said job is…Mmh

No… This post has nothing against Minaj. I like Nicki… she’s quirky and anything quirky gets my vote but let’s be honest… an aspiring artist wants to make it big on the mainstream and what seems to be the best way to get attention? Well judging from the number of views on YouTube, jungle twerking seems to be a theme. As stupid as it sounds, Minaj is influencing the little girls and boys of the world.
I love people who can express themselves and not give a f!ck what people think but come on, don’t do it so people can download your single, do it cause it’s who you are. Africa is too conservative, I’ll give you that. If you do it because that’s the best way to express yourself, great but if you do it to get a quick dime..drop on them knees. Yesterday I saw a girl in pink tights and a white t-shirt…not sure if she was attending a yoga class or auditioning for the role of a marshmallow at sweets-of-heaven. And like a row of dominoes, the music industry and morality badges tumble to the ground in an instant…

‘Wanting to be someone else is a waste of who you are’

Leave a Reply

