The joke was on me the day we said hello.

The flowers you gave me were as

fresh as the day you picked them

but no matter how many times

I watered them with my tears, they withered

and died.

The letters were as clear as the day you sent

them but no matter how many times I pleaded,

the promises soon faded away.

The chocolates were as sweet as the day I ate

them but the bliss soon turned to ruins in

my mouth.

 

The joke was on me the day I let you in.

The key I gave you to my beating vessel you

used to lock me up with my insecurities.

The trust I placed within you soon found its

way into my back.

The love I bestowed upon you cried out as it

caught a cold the moment it reached for your heart.

 

The joke was on me the day you left.

I left the door open for your return but the lonely

wind slammed it shut.

I prepared a meal for us but it was ripe with

bitterness and solitude.

The shooting star I wished upon crashed its way

into our home and set alight my dreams turning

them to ashes.

 

The biggest player in the deck had found a new

game in my heart.

I would fall asleep with your arms around me

but now I fall asleep with your laughter ringing

in my ears.

I called you my Prince Charming hoping you had

come to rescue me but I was a fool and you were The Joker.

.

Leave a Reply

