Today is not the day I die.

 

They blinked after a stare,

They pointed past me.

Today..

I will swallow no pills to fall asleep.

My reality shall not haunt my dreams.

The birds shall chirp and I shall be awake.

 

Today is not the day I die.

 

The day was strange.

My tears have formed into scars on my arms.

They asked if I was okay.

My insanity blares through my earphones.

They pulled me aside and said they loved the notes.

 

Today is not the day I die.

 

No knife was used to cut the tension at dinner.

No windows were cracked with booming voices.

No pillows were soaked with my tears and

stepfather’s sweats.

 

Today.. Today should be my last day but today was

a good day.

 

Today.. Today is not today.

 

Today, blink and you shall miss my humiliation.

Today, they snapped the chatter of my misery.

Today, wounds are deeper in my heart than in my arms.

Today, I could still hear their whispers.

 

Today is not today.

Today, eat I could not.

Today, the curtains hid the window cracks.

Today his stench filled my nostrils, choking my tears.

 

Today was yesterday because today is the day that I die.

2 thoughts on “Today

Leave a Reply

