This is not Harry Potter 8.

I’ll admit, when I heard that J.K Rowling was releasing another book to add to the Harry Potter series, I almost choked on my butterbeer. Almost 10 years later, we were finally getting a Harry Potter book. Granted it was more of a script than a novel but I’ll take it where I can get it.

So I  patiently waited and then i heard the news; Alan Rickman passes away. To some, he is known as the bad guy in the first Die Hard movie but to me, and most of civilisation, he will forever be Professor Severus Snape. If anyone taught me anything about sacrifice and eternal love, it was him so when he died.. My heart shattered into a thousand pieces. So as the release of the ‘eighth’ Harry Potter drew closer, I found myself getting angry. Who did J.K Rowling think she was? Everything had been fine. Couldn’t she just leave us alone with our memories? How dare she? Especially at a time like this, with Alan Rickman‘s passing.. I just wanted to remember him as the Snape we hated, grew to admire and eventually love and respect. Why couldn’t she let it be?

So, I decided to put my feelings aside because no matter what, Harry Potter is Harry Potter and like I said, I’ll take it where I can get it.

This play definitely has some plot holes for the heavy magical fans but I love how it focuses on the relationships between the characters. I appreciated the jokes and the family drama. Also, I kind of liked that Harry was suffering from PTSD. I know that sounds terrible but it’s definitely more realistic and less Disney.

The relationship between Draco Malfoy and Harry Potter sons is cute and there’s an underlyining sexual tension but maybe I’m reading too much into it.

It was a nice book but at the end of the day;  I miss J.K Rowling’s writing and she didn’t need the co-writers as I feel like they created too many plot holes. But, it was worth it. Almost like looking through your old high school classmates posting #throwbackthursday pictures.

This is not Harry Potter 8 and I’m glad.

18059923

REFERENCES

Tiffany, J, Thorne,J, Rowling, JK 2016. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child – Parts One & Two (Special Rehearsal Edition): The Official Script Book of the Original West End Production: Parts I & II. First Edition Edition. Little Brown.

Leave a Reply

