My first leap into the deep waters, my breath was

snatched from me and goose bumps coated my

skin.

I coughed and choked but the more I resisted, the

easier I swallowed.

I was pulled to the bottom of the bed and eventually

left to rise, but instead of floating up, I continued to

sink.

 

My first leap into the deep waters was the greatest

dive I ever made.

I no longer felt the need to fight for air and I wore

the goose bumps as tightly as a Trojan horse is

worn on February 14th.

I crawl through the familiar waters, stroking the back

of my wounds.

 

The world thinks I’m drowning in my tears when in

reality I’m calmly bathing in my fears.

 

The moment I come up for and unveil the map to my

treasured chest will be the moment you find yourself

drowning in my truth.

The moment I come up for air will be the moment

that you will take me out of the waters, only to leave

me to drown on the sand.

You will leave me to wither and pant, thirsting for

something as real as the waves I left.

You will drink in my sunken misery, laughing at how

easy it was to get me to breath.

 

I will allow myself to continue to drown because

I see no reason for me to swim.

Leave a Reply

